Do I have to move forward with this sale?

8 Replies

Advance notice, this is my first time selling my house, so I'm just looking for advice here. I listed my house for $220k, there was a bidding war and it came between two buyers, one for $225k and one for $232k. The $232k offer is from someone who has been waiting for my property to come on the market for a few months, so I suppose my agent and theirs have a good working relationship. It is a very hot market and very competitive right now. I accepted the $232k offer, which come to find out was an FHA loan. Appraisal came in at $220k, and I was basically told that either I accept the lower price or we can't go forward, so I agreed we would reduce to $220k. I was not given the FHA amendatory clause to sign until two days ago. Now that I'm researching this, I see that the buyer could have made up the difference out of pocket (which I know they can, because they are paying the 20% down payment in cash), and that I could have pushed for them to meet the asking price. This is the second time I think my agent has not been forthcoming with me (after the inspection, he originally indicated I would have to make concessions in sale price if I did not want to make repairs on the home-I researched and found that I could refuse repairs and make no concessions). He has been giving me a laundry list of why I should just go forward (mentioning the repairs needed again, which I feel I made clear I was giving no concessions). My gut is telling me that my agent is trying to get good deals for the buyer/agent, and at this point I don't even want to move forward with this agent. He's saying we are past the point of cancelling this transaction. If I don't sign the FHA amendatory clause, does this breach my contract? I do not feel I was fully informed about my options.

You have to read your contract carefully to know if you can or not.