$70K buy and hold...need help

24 Replies

Any advice on acquiring a potential buy and hold in TN, listed at $70K, rehabbed and currently rented at $775/Mo. What are some potential creative ways to get the property without conventional loan? 

@Jason D.

Ok. I am brand new to this brother. So forgive the idiotic questions but after a ‘near asking’ price what would be a way I could sweeten the deal and get financing from owner?

I appreciate the input!

@Justin Tippens I've never done owner financing, so I'm just regurgitating what I have learned about it.

The near asking price would be the advantage to the seller. Seller financing is really a feeling out process. Most sellers won't go for it or just have no idea about it. It would be in your best interest to learn as much as you can, so you can teach the seller the advantages of seller financing.

Originally posted by @Justin Tippens :

@Jason D.

Ok. I am brand new to this brother. So forgive the idiotic questions but after a ‘near asking’ price what would be a way I could sweeten the deal and get financing from owner?

I appreciate the input!

Come in with a decent down payment. Many owners flat out can't afford to owner finance. If you're lucky enough to find one who will, they need reassurance that you're good for the money and that you have some skin in the game. Offer a good sized down payment, offer asking (assuming the market justifies the asking price) and let them know how long you need to get your own financing established. Usually 2-5 years is typical. 

Originally posted by @Justin Tippens :

@Ashly B.

Awesome! Thanks.

In your opinion/experience, what would a ‘good’ down payment be on this price assuming it is a justified asking...

$10k would make me really confident you know what you're doing and can close the deal. I would probably consider $5-7k depending on my need/want to sell and the length of the agreement - ie less would be ok for 12-24 months.