NEED HELP WITH CALCULATE OF POTENTIAL RESALE VALUE OF AMMENDITIES

1 Reply

I HAVE YET TO MEET A RENOVATOR WHO KNOWS WHAT HOME FEATURES ADD some form of resale value to the subject property before we can get to the ARV we first need to know the resale value of each amenity of the house based on a list of factors to be consider that may affect the potential returns rather those returns break even with the cost negative returns or in some cases positive returns when going to resale your renovated property construction project

I'm no expert. I'm fairly new and inexperienced. However my dad is interested in flipping rehabs so I've been researching it. I've come across questions like yours. The answer that is typically given is it depends on the market, the conditions of the individual house and what features comparable houses in the area have, which is why it may be hard for you to get a contractor to answer that question. From the different podcasts, articles and Q&A's on BP, the general theme is that there is no cut and dry list of features guaranteed to positively impact the resale value of a home. 

The example that comes up is putting expensive finishes on a house when all the other houses in the entire neighbor either don't have those finishes or the area as a whole doesn't have high home appraisals. Or worse doing everything right and then the market conditions change as a whole.

Some examples list changing the floor plan or adding a bedroom or bathroom to be good ways increase value. Even then what value is added as an estimate seems to hinge on comparable houses in that market.