German investor investing in US real estate market

11 Replies

Hello everybody! I am new to BiggerPockets and super excited to use this resource and hopefully be able to help others out as well.

My question is regarding a German resident who has reached out and asked about how it would work if he wanted to invest in US real estate. I was made aware of the following options, but these are not in the books for this specific investor:

Establish permanent residency through US Immigration

Obtain a non-permanent resident visa (temporary work authorization). There are a number of classifications for this type of residency with only certain ones being          eligible for loans.

I was also told he could potentially obtain a non-resident private mortgage loan. Does anyone have experience with this?

Also, are there options I'm missing or ways to get creative with this?

Thanks in advance for your replies!!

@Alline Birkel

Real estate investments are not eligible for any kind of visa...

Tell him to come here and swin in the see...

I am from Germany I came here opened a bank account bought first property cash... my us bank is offering ne financing with 80% down...

Just my 2 cents

@Tobias Stoll

Nein, ich hab gesagt dass die Optionen die mir präsentiert wurden und die ich in meinem ersten post erwähnt hab für diesen Investor nicht klappen. :) Dass ich aber davon gehört hab dass er potenziell einen non-resident private mortgage loan bekommen kann. Do you have experience with this type of loan?

@Alline Birkel

Aso dachte er wollte die residency...

No I dont I have talked with my bank for a normal commercial loan for my llc... he could probably do the same or always talk to hard money lenders... or better for him get a low interest loan in Germany and invest the money here...

Just my 2 cents

@Tobias Stoll