Please help me figure out if this deal is worth moving forward on

24 Replies

I'm trying to BRRR. This is my first time investing in real estate which is not my own home. We have two days to purchase a contract from the wholesaler so I have to make a decision.

The deal:

• The negotiated price: S67.5k
  • Rehab: ~11000
  • ARV: S110K
  • Rent: conservatively speaking: $850

The complication:

• I don’t have page 1 of the 15 page lease. I’ve been told it’s irretrievable.
  • The owner is living in the garage with his girlfriend. I don’t see anything mentioned about this being okay in the lease. This house isn't zoned for multi-family.
  • The tenants I was told is being difficult in this transition period. She has two small kids.
  • I was told she’s not paying rent. I have not seen a paper trail to prove this so I’ll likely have to start one when we take the property over.

Questions:

• Does this deal seem too complicated for the numbers to be worth it?
  • I’m doing this remotely and trying to be hands off. I’m thinking to hire a lawyer to handle the eviction.
  • Can I do a rehab when someone is still living in the home? I was thinking to come in, let them know I’ll be reducing the rent for one month to compensate them for the headache of rehab. If so does this need to be written into the contract?

for a first deal this one would be tough.. not only that I would very much question that 11k in rehab is going to raise the value by almost 50% .. hold over tenants can do thousands of damage and cost you months evicting.

I was with you until the out of area, hands-off part.

We can add tremendous value ridding properties of undesirable people and conditions,  but it is far from hands-off.  

There's also wholesaler risk with pushy deadlines and lack of paperwork.  Whose to say this contract hasn't been sold to 3 others? 

Just buy off the MLS from a regular homeowner that's been there forever with no updates. Easiest way to find is probably long DOM. Good luck.