Cali Resident Buying Out of State

21 Replies

Hello,

I'm a newbie to real estate investing, I've been doing research but this stuff can definitely be intimidating. I live in California and buying here is not an option for me right now which leads me to out of state investing. Can anyone provide me with tips or people to connect with to acquire my first property (hoping for at least a couple doors for my first purchase). As of right now Detroit, Baltimore, and Philly are cities I've been watching. I'm hoping to buy before the end of the year. Thanks!

Hi Briana,
I'm no expert but I'm in the same boat as you. I live in Southern California and am about to close on my first out-of-state property in a few days - I fly to Baltimore tomorrow. Let me know if you have any questions and best wishes on buying!

Tons of California people are buying in Baltimore and losing tons of money.  Baltimore is not a city you can invest in from afar.  You have to have amazingly good boots on the ground.  If not, your screwed.

@Briana Petry ,

Investing in Detroit can be a good investment because of the cash flow and long term possibilities Detroit brings. The price point is low here, I can help you out and refer you to anyone that can guide you on how to buy here. I have rentals here so I know I can help out any way you need. 

If you are newbie, you could try to buy a condo in Baltimore. They are easier to renovate, condo association can fix most of the problems, condo fee can hurt ( prop managers can eat your profits with repairs anyway), for the first investment you can see how it goes.