Paying on a LOC or Loan With No Current Cash Flow

5 Replies

I'm new to rentals and fix & flips, and am currently just exploring my options, in terms of getting a loan or Line of Credit to help fund the purchase & renovation of future properties. 

My question is, after being approved for a business LOC or a loan through a hard money lender, private investor, or something similar, how do you ensure payments are made back on the LOC/Loan, without having cash flow from the property? Is it better to buy higher for a property with little to no work needed, so cash flow can come in quicker? Or, is it better to buy lower for a property that needs more work, but cash flow is postponed until renovations are finished?

This is pretty much the only thing really holding me back from moving forward, as I don't want to get stuck in a situation where I have payments of $600+ a month, with no way to comfortably make them.

Hi, Briannan Burns!  Most investors who use our hard money loans for their rentals and/or flips are using their reserves to pay monthly fees.  If you don't have income and want to use a loan of some sort, I'd highly suggest calculating what your monthly payment would be and making sure you have 6 months or 12 months worth of debt service(monthly payments) in your business account or checking account, savings etc.  A good rule of thumb is to always make sure you have 6 or 12 months worth of payments on each of your investments in case something comes up(more often than not, something will.)  I hope this helps!  If you have more questions about hard money, please feel free to contact me!  I am available anytime.