Turn Key Companies to recommend or stay clear

25 Replies

I am looking to 1031 a SFM in California (approx $350,000) into a turnkey property out of state. I have heard there are good ones and let's just say, "Not good ones".

Before I leave my cash in a company, any advise as to the good ones or one, and one to stay away from?  You can comment here, or if you prefer to be on the down-low, pm me.  Happy Investing!

@Robin Gravlin , I have no personal experience with turnkey providers, but you're absolutely right to be asking questions. 

Once you get some recommendations, make sure to google their name + scam, their name + ripoff, and their name + lawsuit. While one person saying a provider is a scam isn't necessarily true, hundreds of people making this same declaration is something to pay attention to.

Originally posted by @Robin Gravlin :

I am looking to 1031 a SFM in California (approx $350,000) into a turnkey property out of state. I have heard there are good ones and let's just say, "Not good ones".

Before I leave my cash in a company, any advise as to the good ones or one, and one to stay away from?  You can comment here, or if you prefer to be on the down-low, pm me.  Happy Investing!

Research, research! The best way is to start looking for a market. When you find one you like, look for a Turnkey Provider in that area. Make sure they are a TRUE Provider. They should do everything in-house. The should own the property (it shouldNOT be a listing) then they should renovate it, place a tenant, and then stay on as the manager for you. Even the management needs to be done in-house. Otherwise, they are just agents selling you a property.

Good luck!