Triple Net Leases and 1031

8 Replies

Hi all, 

I'm new to this excellent site (and have no expertise in RE investment). Thank you in advance for any help and advice!

My situation is this: I'm recently retired, and it's time to sell a building I own. There will be significant capital gains, and I would like to defer, by some sort of 1031 arrangement, the payment of tax on the capital gain. (The gain would be somewhere upwards of a million dollars.) 

I've heard that triple-net leases are a way to do this without actually having to buy a new property on my own. My understanding is that I can invest through an agent, and get a safe, trouble-free income stream (with the understanding that this would be taxed as ordinary income).

I'm afraid of making a ghastly mistake here. My questions are:

1) Is this a reasonable idea for someone in my position? 

Thanks again - I feel very fortunate to have found this forum.

I did have a second question, but it was removed by the moderators! I expect it was not in line with the terms of the forum.

That's fine; the first question is the most important one anyway.

@Malcolm Pollack , What you're describing is a very common and natural transition that the 1031 exchange is perfect for.  You're wanting to move into a more passive and secure position in conjunction with retirement.  We deal with hundreds of investors doing just that every year now.  That's what the 1031 is designed to do.  And you've got quite a few options out there to do just that.  

The key is that when you do a 1031 you are selling investment real estate and you need to purchase investment real estate.  But purchasing at least as much as you sell and using all of the net proceeds in the purchase you will indefinitely defer all tax and depreciation recapture.