Newbie Out of state investing in Ohio

10 Replies

Hi Everyone, I'm just starting out and recently signed up for bigger pockets pro.  I am looking to connect with people who are doing out of state investing.  I have been analyzing a lot of different areas in Cincinnati, Cleveland and Columbus.  Its hard to see what areas have potential and not in war zones. Any thoughts or advice? Thanks 

In Cincinnati, I have been following areas that are adjacent to Hyde Park.   I think of "path of progress" from Mount Adams to Hyde Park to Blue Ash, along Montgomery Road. Specifically:

• East Walnut Hills
  • Evanston
  • Norwood
  • Pleasant Ridge
  • Amberley
  • Deek Park
  • Kennedy Heights

I'm not yet convinced on Walnut Hills proper (west of Victory Parkway), not yet convinced on Avondale. 

The City Planning office is a good resource to see where politicians want to deploy funds (no gaurantees on follow-thru or outcomes however)

https://www.cincinnati-oh.gov/planning/

As somebody who works, lives and invests in Cincinnati, I would agree with @Scott Starrett

To add one more area based on it being backed by a solid school district - Fairfax (in the Mariemont School District). It is a solid option/stepping stone for younger families to get their foot in the door of one of the best school districts. 

@Gregg Nagano These 3 cities are a great place for out-of-state investors to invest in. Each market has its own pros and cons. I am biased towards Columbus since I live, invest, and work here. I believe some of our pros are the job and population growth. One of our cons is the high demand for REI in Columbus. Everyone wants to invest in Columbus because of our solid demographics. This can sometimes discourage out-of-state investors looking for a "deal." It is much easier to find a cash flowing property in Cleveland or Cincinnati because of the lesser demand.