Research for first RE Investment Opportunity

3 Replies

I am very new to real estate and BP but I have been spending every minute of my free time reading books, blogs, articles, listening to podcasts, and talking to other real estate investors to try and soak up as much knowledge and advice as I can. I'm trying to decide what my plans and goals are so that I can strategize and get tactical in obtaining these goals. I would love for people to give me advice on buying my first property. Also, where do RE investors go to analyze and research cities/neighborhoods to determine whether or not a place is a good market and what are the key indicators that I should be looking for within those cities/neighborhoods.

Hey @Tyler Santos , welcome to the platform! 

As you stated, it's important to first define your investing goals. That is, what is your appetite for cash flow vs appreciation. How risk averse/affine are you? Also are you looking to buy and hold, fix and flip, or maybe house-hack. The choices you make will dictate where and what kinds of properties to look at.

As for researching cities and neighborhoods, here are my suggestions.  

I suggest beginning your search by looking at the data, such as demographic data from the Census. This info will give you a decent idea of what to expect and help filter down your search to a few cities.

Some of the metrics that I find valuable to understand are:

- Population

- Home Values

- Household Incomes

- Rental Vacancy Rate

- Homeowner Vacancy Rate

- Poverty Rate

- Educational Attainment Rate (High School/GED & Bachelors)

- Number of Housing Unit

- Rent to Income Ratio

- Rent to Price Ratio

- Population on SNAPS (supplemental nutrition assistance program) percentage

- Property Tax Rate

- Median Age of Buildings

- Number of Structures by Units (SFR, Duplex, Triplex, Quadplex, etc...)

- Median Rents by Number of Bedrooms

- Unemployment Rate

- Employment Sectors Percentages 

- Owner to Renter Ratio