Help Me Analyze Is This Condo Deal or No Deal?

5 Replies

I am new to BP so just getting into swing of things here. I am in Mesquite TX, and we have one single family unit that's showing to potential renters.

Condo is in Dallas Texas, 2BR, 1.5bath. Few basics are - It's listed for $70k, owner agreed to $60k. Market value should be $70-75 atleast. Purpose is to buy and hold. Owner has done quite some work, painting, new carpets upstairs...What remains is much less and I can do that myself, estimate $500-1000. It can rent for $950 (up-to $985). After factoring in costs cash flow is $207, Cash-on-Cash 13.66 & Cap rate 8.4.

There's a new HOA as the previous one wasn't working. The story is an investor with 40 units sued the old HOA for records that they were withholding from people and actually became the new HOA. I understand that the current reserves are low, just $10k. But I am thinking between last November and December that number must be higher now.

We have another single family home that just got ready for rental. Wife is primary mortgage holder. So I was thinking I will do this deal in my name. Previous lender on this rental says $48-60k is too low for banks to consider. Our primary home is paid off but I would prefer to explore other ways of financing before pulling out equity from our primary only as last resort. What financing options/ideas would you consider?

The unit on the left is boarded up, with a code violation posted. My realtor had tried to contact the owner with no response. I like the numbers and the unit. But I am guarding against emotional attachment should HOA & boarded next door be an issue.

I plan to talk to HOA manager this week. Also should I buy this unit I will contact owner of boarded up unit next door and offer to buy it.

Is this a good deal? why not? What would be the concerns of HOA that you would have, and boarded up unit next door? Would this be a deal breaker?