1031 Exchange on a Cash-out Refinance????

7 Replies

Hey gang.  I was thinking about this and curious if its possible.  Has anyone done it?  I have properties under contract that I want to purchase.  Can I do a 1031 exchange on a cash-out refinance or does it have to be on a sale?  If I can do it, how much does doing a 1031 delay the process?  I'd like to do these refinances/purchases within 90 days.  Thanks!

I'm confused what you are asking.  A cash-out refi is not a taxable event. You can turn around and use those funds however you see fit.   1031 exchange is related to capital gains deferment at the time of sale.  

@jayden @daniel Thanks guys.  This is my first time doing a cash-out.  I wasn't aware that it wasn't affected by capital gains.  I was trying to avoid it.  Great info.  Quick answer.  I appreciate you guys.

These guys nailed it. A 1031 is only for a sale and purchase. A cash out refinance will in most cases be a tax-free transaction. Go buy those properties on the cash out refinance- then 1031 them when you are ready to sell!

@Kevin Christensen , Purchase and cash out refinance away!!! This is the third "R" of the famous BRRR+R strategy. Buy...rehab,...rent... refinance.  A refinance is not a taxable event so there's no issues there.  The 4th R I added.  It stands for "re-evaluate".  You refinance and pull the cash out for more investment or whatever.  And then you periodically re-evaluat that property's performance to see if it's time to sell.

If it's time to sell then that is when you do the 1031 exchange.  You sell that property and all of the debt is paid off (including the refi mortgage) and you purchase new investment property.  So you can then continue your tax deferral and also have gained tax free cash through the refinance.