15 Vs 30 Year Mortgage

7 Replies

First, I'm kind of new around here, is there a search bar I haven't found? I'm sure this question has been asked 100+ times..

We have one Short term rental property right now with a 30 year mortgage. Looking to buy another property in January or February for long term rental and thinking about a 15 year mortgage. The property we're looking at would still cash flow, only looking at a $55k mortgage after down payment estimated an extra $134 a month in mortgage payment to save $35k in interest. Seems like a no brainer, any arguments against doing a 15 year on a property that still cash flows?

Thank you for any responses.. Merry Christmas!

Dave

@DAVE ROSA I'm new to the game myself, and will preface that I still don't have any properties to my name yet. I'd like to think others with more experience and skin in the game would echo my sentiments though that as long as you've got all your numbers plugged in (taxes, insurance, repairs, CapEx, etc.) and it cash flows then all systems should be good to go!

The general consensus is that the 30yr option is the better route to go if you are trying to grow your business as it gives you more cashflow to continue to purchase your second, third, fourth etc property.  If you want free and clear properties, you can always pay your 30yr loan off faster and pay it like a 15yr loan, but you can't pay your 15yr loan as if it were a 30yr.  This gives you the option to not have nearly as high of a payment should you ever hit a rough spot financially.  

Also you aren't really "saving" 35k by paying it off faster due to the time value concept of money.  To put it simply a dollar is not always a dollar.  A dollar today is worth more than a dollar 10yrs from now, which is worth more than a dollar 30 years from now.