Votes
Tom McMahon
  • Weymouth, MA
Votes |
Is this all a blind spot?

Tom McMahon
  • Weymouth, MA
Posted Dec 18 2019, 10:58

So I am an economics teacher but the true intricacies of real estate are relatively new to me. I have a friend who has been borrowing money, investing in real estate multi families and apartments etc, and seemingly making a killing. I repeatedly see people who are using similar tactics, including thousands on this site specifically, but I have a problem. I am a cynic. I am in the process of taking out a HELOC against my primary residence. I own a (valued at) $550,000 house. It has appreciated $100,000 in the past 5 years in Massachusetts. I owe $199,750 on my mortgage. I am looking to take out the max amount against my house or about $280,000 as a HELOC at around 4.5%. This will give me the liquidity to hopefully find a property, run the numbers, and make a profit after all of my expenses. It took my 14 days to learn and understand this entire process after lurking on these forums and reading a few books. So then I would rehab the property, gain some equity, and then refinance the property taking out the entire amount owed, pay off my HELOC, pay off my nice small 30 year fixed mortgage, take out another nice slightly larger but still cheap 30 year mortgage, and collect rent from peasants until the day I die. Then I will do the entire thing, all over again, and over again, and over again, offsetting my new debt with my new rental income until I am a millionaire. No offense, but this is not an overly complicated process, although there are certainly difficulties achieving it optimally.