Biggest bang for my dollar

6 Replies

Hello everyone.  I am looking for some solid ideas or direction as I am focusing on growth of my real estate company.  I have been flipping houses in my area now for the last 3 years because the market is very strong right now and the profits outweigh the long term growth.  I have a significant amount of cash that I would like to invest, but not sure what I should do.  I want to continue flipping a few per year as I really enjoy the projects, but I need additional rentals as I feel I'm trading hours for dollars.  I currently have 2 residential rentals, and not sure I want the headaches of multiple house rentals.  However, I am considering small apartment buildings.  I would like some additional passive income along with cash.  Any strategies you might suggest?  

Thank you,

Justin

I'm an advocate of buying rental units and making sure you rent to people that are qualified.  Set clear and legal expectations (i.e. income minimums, references, credit score, etc.) and do your due diligence before renting and you will minimize the headaches while generating a nice passive income.  Be a great landlord, be selective when renting, and you will enjoy lots of benefits.  

Apartments, self storage, or industrial. You're probably most familiar with apartment aspects given your familiarity with residential construction. So I'd start with them. 

At the end of the day, an apartment value add project is very similar to a flip. Only it takes longer, cash flows better, lower cost debt, and has much better tax treatment.

I'm biased because it's been so good to me but I'd recommend you take a hard look at self storage. I've helped two high volume house flippers parlay their skill sets into the storage World. Using the same skills that allowed them to flip 20-40 houses per year, they've each bought 3-6 storage properties in the last 16 months. They both cited residual income as the reason they "made the switch".

Justin,