New investor! Analyzing deals, preparing for 1st purchase!

13 Replies

Greetings Everyone!

I’m new investor currently residing in Bay Area, CA.

I’m looking to start analyzing deals to get my feet wet in preparation for my first purchase.

I would love to know, what markets are good to look at for out of state investments?

Also, as a PRO I have access to all these amazing tools that I have a pretty good hang on using.

Looking for recommendations in workflow when it comes to utilizing these tools.

What have you all found success with in your workflow of finding and analyzing deals for maximizing efficiency?

Thanks in advance, looking forward to connecting!

Welcome Alliya! I am from the NY area and am looking in the Indianapolis, IN area. Right now I am searching for duplexes, triplexes, and quads. Already have a few lined up and looking to partner with other members. feel free to reach out to chat!

@Alliya Pinckney welcome to BP. I was born and raised in the Bay Area myself. I'm assuming that your objective is cash flow. If that's the case, you should have Indianapolis and Kansas City on the top of your short list, not just because of the strong cash flow they offer, but both markets have strong economic and demographic trends with modern, diverse economies. Not all cash flow market have that. An economically thriving and growing market is important to the long term value of your asset. Don't just look at short term cash flow if you are going to be in this for the long haul. We've been active in both markets for several years. I'd be happy to help you if you want to reach out.

@Vincent Catanzaro I would caution you on multi family in Indianapolis. Most MF's are in old, rough areas and don't perform well. We've been active in Indy for about 10 years and I can count on 1 hand how many MF's we've done it that time. Indy is a great cash flow market for SFR but in my experience is not a good MF market. I would approach with extreme caution.