A newbie during COVID19

45 Replies

Hey BP! Im in the stage of

Investing in my education. I always hear how if you wait for the perfect time to invest, you will never make it happen, which makes perfect sense. However, given that I am a newbie do you think it would be wise to purchase a property with the whole COVID-19 situation going on? My niche is house hacking via multi-family properties. I am making sure that I am moving forward daily; ie. attending webinars, Podcast, Asking questions, and doing research on hard money lenders and investor friendly agents but I know the time needs to come to take action...Is it wise to make that time now? Or should I wait for this to blow over and just keep going hard on my education? I appreciate you guys. Thanks! 

I don't think the market is reflecting the situation yet.  I think it will be 3-6mo or more until prices have adjusted.  Right now people are still hopeful their properties will sell at full price, I don't see any deals yet.

Originally posted by @Steve Smithy :

I don't think the market is reflecting the situation yet.  I think it will be 3-6mo or more until prices have adjusted.  Right now people are still hopeful their properties will sell at full price, I don't see any deals yet.

Thank you! 

Hi Evelyn,

I just got under contract my first house hack duplex, I made sure to run my numbers assuming the worst would happen. It still made sense and I am now waiting for the appraisal and hopefully close on time. It won't be a big deal if market values drop since house hacking is more for the cashflow and gettin started on investing. On the mean time I am still reading and preparing myself for the future. I would love to connect with you if you have more questions. I am based in Tampa, FL. 

I'd wait a bit to see how the housing market reacts to the high rate of unemployment. It's unfortunate but I believe people will have trouble paying off their mortgage and go into foreclosure.