Realtor texted ..owner replied back threatened to sue....

26 Replies

if a realtor came to know that property at address 'x' may come in market from some casual gossip/talk, the realtor search on google and find the name and contact number of owner and then texts to owner that I am a real estate agent if you want to sell your house then I can help you in selling your house.

and he got reply back, how you got my name and number , I will sue you for breaching my privacy.

Did anyone directly or indirectly faced or heard such type of situation...Thanks

but question is it OK/legal to text owner asking "if she is interested in selling" after getting number from 3rd party like city hall or somewhere else?

Originally posted by @Raj G. :

but question is it OK/legal to text owner asking "if she is interested in selling" after getting number from 3rd party like city hall or somewhere else?

It's legal

Of course, an listed phone number is meant to be used by anyone so long as it doesn’t break the law regarding harassment or threats.

Do they think every postcard they’ve gotten in the mail from a realtor, Zillow, Opendoor, or any other real estate company was breaking the law?   what do they plan to sue for? $1? A million $’s? What harm have they suffered? 

Maybe they shouldn’t have threatened to sue the guy who called and offered to sell them an answering machine. Then they wouldn’t have had to answer the call. 

I'm a deep cover agent with the super secret board of realtors police force and we are in a van with a swat team down the street from your home, drop everything and run now and you might get away!