Ethics of wholesaling

21 Replies

I'm needing some wisdom on a possible deal. I am a roofer by trade and was contacted by an insurance agent friend of mine who asked me to take a look at a roof for him that was currently needing to sell.

I won't go into the the story because it's long, but basically there's not a claim to be made due to a warranty issue with the shingles and the manufacturer refuses to pay the claim. Here's where I need help.

This house can not pass an inspection because of the roof and the home will go into foreclosure soon if it doesn't sell. The real estate agent is not a good one and is currently not doing the homeowner any favors.

I was curious if anyone would feel it would be eithically wrong if I made a cash offer to the homeowner? I don't want to include the real estate agent on this, but should I?

Any wisdom would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

if its listed on MLS then you go through the agent.. if its not listed then you can go direct.. you may bruze your agent friend. morals and ethics I think your OK>

@Logan Merrick You mentioned wholesaling in your title but not in your question. If you are trying to wholesale, leave them alone! The LAST thing someone facing a foreclosure needs is some yahoo wannabe wholesaler tying up their property, hoping to selling it, then walking away when they can't, leaving the owners no time to find a Real buyer before the auction.

You are not a yahoo wannabe wholesaler, but you are trying to cut the agent out of a deal and trying to wholesale a deal on the MLS? Why would your "list of multiple buyers" want a wholesale deal from you that they all already know is sitting on the MLS?

I may try to get a non-exclusive option from the seller.  Agree on a price within a certain time, but allow the seller to continue to try to solve their problem with no consequence or obligation to you. 

Then make sure your buyers know about the mortgage default and deadline. Just don't hurt the seller👍