Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
Jesse Golden
Votes |
Seeking Investment Strategy for a Traveling Medical Professional

Jesse Golden
Posted Nov 17 2020, 09:41

I am a recent graduate, who just landed his first real job outside of serving/bartending. I currently make about 75k a year, however, I anticipate making closer to 140k a year by mid to end of next year (new graduates start low with little experience). I have thought about getting into real estate for awhile now, but my dreams are becoming more of a reality as I am now able to save money, for what feels like the first time in my life. By next summer, I plan on picking up travel positions, which pay substantially more, and include living and dining stipends. The position contracts are typically 13-weeks long, and I can either line the positions up back-to-back, or take a month or so off between contracts.

I think that this type of work creates a unique opportunity with real estate and I am just curious as to what ideas people have for the types of mortgages I should look into, strategies for managing rental properties out of state or intermittently, or any other ideas or approaches I should look into. 

The area I am interest in getting started in is mostly single-family homes, with respectable duplexes and triplexes few and far.