Is my licence needed!?! All opinions welcome!!!

24 Replies

Hi all! 

Hope you're all having a brilliant holiday season with your friends and family! 

Quick question for you all, as discussed in a previous post, I'm looking at wholesaling as a potential strategy for acquiring property that fit my criteria while wholesaling the rest. 

My question is, shall I also pursue my real estate licence? My background is sales/sales ops. I'm certainly no expert in RE, will having my licence give me an advantage from a legal perspective (I understand there are some grey areas in wholesaling) and will it give a competitive advantage when talking with motivated sellers? 

All opinions welcome!!

Well, am licensed in OR and if I did some of the BS wholesalers do I'd lose my license.

I also take every opp to rat-out wholesalers to the REA here.

Then again if wholesalers practiced some disclosure and didn't do such a dis-service to sellers I might be more open-minded.

That help?

Helps greatly guys, I'm sensing some animosity between Agents/Wholesalers here, I want to ensure that I'm doing the right thing by all parties involved therefore, I'll be seeking my licence to learn the trade the right way. 

Any more opinions welcome!

Check around locally.  Wholesaling is a bit shady by itself.  And many local-to-me wholesalers are very shady. 

Technically, in my state, you need a license to market and sell someone else's property.  People claim to get around it by claiming they are selling the contract, but they aren't marketing a contract, or assigning it.

I've seen "wholesalers" clear $50k on a sale to a "flipper" that barely made $15k after they (the flipper) believed the "ARV" that was given, then spent too much on bad design decisions.