Would you buy in the Bay Area right now?

11 Replies

I’m an absolute newbie. My wife and I live in the Bay Area, and we’re looking to buy our first property. Currently, we’re seeing homes being sold for 20%+ of the asking price. Crazy!

From one end, we see interest rates super low, but prices are going up. In contrast, when interest rates will go up, prices will hopefully go down.

But what do you think? Should we wait? Does it make sense to buy anyways? How do you think the real estate market is going to look after pandemic?

Hey Noel.

This is (literally) the million dollar question. Where will home prices be in a few days, months, years. My opinion is if you can buy now, get in and get used to the new normal of limited supply as owner occupiers as well as investors hodl until macro economic factors steady. 

Don't be concerned by the list to sale price ratio. Many agents in the Bay Area intentionally price homes well below their market value to create demand and multiple offer scenarios. That 20% premium on the list price is more likely 3-7% depending on the home and the market. Where are you currently looking?

Another option is trying to find homes off-market, currently working in that capacity for many of my clients.

Hi Micheal, 

Thank you for your reply! We’re mostly looking at the East Bay: Orinda, Oakland hills, Piedmont, Montclair, Lafayette. Additionally, the Northern areas, like Mill Valley, San Rafael and Napa. Ideally, we’re trying to find a house in a nice neighborhood that we can slowly fix, living in it, and hopefully sell it for a profit if we decide to leave. We have seen properties with an adu, do you think those would have less competition from other buyers? We’re also noticing better deals in San Francisco, would you buy in the city? I’m a little concerned with rent control if we were to transform that property in to a rental in the future.

Thanks again!

Best,

Noel