Best areas to invest in Connecticut?

15 Replies

Hey! I'm a beginner investor looking to buy my first multifamily property in the next few months and start earning some cashflow. In your opinion, what are the best areas to start investing in in CT? I live in Stonington, so I'm not too familiar with the west part of the state. Any help is appreciated.

Abbie

@Abbie Gibson

Hello Abbie, in our neck of the woods, the best areas for cashflow are New London, Norwich and Groton. That being said, you can find a property that cashflows well in other towns in New London County, but it is definitely tougher now with all the competition for on market deals.

You can search for your own off market deals or you could get on some wholesaler lists. Ronald Jude Dutes is a wholesaler in the area. I'll send you a PM with contact information. 

Hi @Abbie Gibson , here are my thoughts on the greater Hartford (Hartford county, really) rental market in the event that you come up this far. As a licensed real estate agent myself, I can get into trouble for "steering" you to an area, so please accept these as just some generally vague thoughts based on my experience of the area and property management industry.

Windsor is a great "small town" that generates good cashflow with moderate chances of appreciation (relative to the CT Market)

Granby even a smaller town feel than Windsor, rentals are in high demand and rent prices are high. Expect high prices too, though. Appreciation likely.

Enfield is better on cashflow, but has some rough parts of town that I personally avoid (Specifically T'ville). It does have a busy shopping area, and a mall that desperately needs attention. The proximity to MA is a benefit.

Manchester strong rents, but getting into the market can be tough, as multis are priced accordingly.

West Hartford if you're in this town you're probably banking on appreciation, not cashflow.