How to offer landlord a win-win deal for 5 properties at $2.5M?

7 Replies

Hello BP!

The Portfolio: Five multi-families (All 3 units, excellent tenants, excellent locations, well-kept). Purchase price: $1.3M. Value today: $2.5M

The Background: My landlord (let's call her Sara) owns 5 properties in West Hartford, CT and she wants to sell all her properties. A few months ago I reached out to Sara and asked her to be a mentor as I began my real estate investing journey. I've been listening to BP podcasts, going to local meet-ups, rapidly digesting books, building relationships, researching markets and seeing properties. In other words, I'm hungry. Also, I work full time as an engineer.

The Need: How can I go to Sara with an offer that is beneficial for her? Can I build my case around helping her avoid capital gains tax? What are the benefits of selling to me now that outweigh waiting 30 years for a $2.5M pay-out? The motive for Sara is she does not want to manage these properties anymore. The disadvantage for me is I don't have 25% of $2.5M. Sara has made it clear if I can present a case which is beneficial for her to sell the properties to me, she will do it.

I welcome all feedback, comments, constructive criticism. Bonus points if you are an accountant in the CT area :)

Annie Pitkin

@Anne Pitkin

Always speak to an accountant and attorney before entering into seller financing deals.

What the seller purchased the properties for is not a factor in the equation; what they owe on the properties does matter (if anything). It sounds like they do not owe anything which makes seller financing much cleaner. Typically with seller financing they are not waiting 30 years for a payoff. We might structure this; 10%-15% down (so they know you are serious), ~5% interest only paid monthly, 30 year amortization with a balloon in 5, 7 or 10 years. No prepayment penalty.