Why Does the Amount the Seller Owes Matter?

5 Replies

Hey everybody, I'm brand new to real estate and I'm just learning about investing. Please forgive a really, really basic question, I'm just learning

I read that when considering an investment property, you need to know how much is owed on the house and how much equity the seller has. I read in one article that you should consider this moreso than the asking price.

Why do you need to know this? What impact will it have on me if the seller owes a lot or owes only a little on the house? How does that change my negotiations and what I will have to pay in order to own the house? Is it because I need to know what their baseline price is in order to be able to pay off their mortgage after closing, so I know what number they really couldn't go below?

Thanks everybody!

@Daniel Lemp , I don't know what the articles you read were getting at but I'll give you a couple thoughts.

The first is that obviously most sellers cannot sell for much less than what they owe because they can't or won't bring money to the table to pay you to take the house. There are exceptions to that rule. I once bought a house for $14k where the seller had to bring over $25k to closing because she owed so much more on her mortgage.

Fast forward a few years when interest rates may be higher and real estate prices have softened. You may have a seller whose property is worth a little LESS than what they owe! You are probably thinking you can't make a deal. However, maybe their interest rate is 2% lower than you could get. So, their payment is actually LESS than you would pay if you paid what the house is actually worth. You could buy the deal with a mortgage assumption or with a Subject-To approach.

In general knowing a seller's situation and their motivations can only help you negotiate and/or find creative ways to make a deal work.