Construction experience needed to flip houses?

13 Replies

Hey BP, 

I'm new to real estate investing so I'm trying to learn as much as I can through podcasts, forums, books, etc.  I've been sifting through forums here on BP and it's been nice to see so many people providing personal insight to people's problems/questions. Now, this might be a dumb question but as I said, I'm trying to learn as much as I can! Is construction experience needed if you're wanting to flip houses as an investor? Or do most people hire this work out to contractors once they've found a deal they'd like to invest in?  I have no experience in construction but would someday like to flip houses. What do most investors do who don't possess construction experience?

@Abigail Hansen hey Abigail that's awesome that you are getting into real estate continue educating yourself! To answer your question about construction experience - yes and no. I am no expert in construction but my family consists of great contractors so I ask them lots of questions constantly. So by just knowing the basics, like how much to budget for cosmetic repairs that should be enough. I suggest either get in contact and build a relationship with a local contractor so you can pick their brain, or find a great trustworthy general contractor in the are you want to invest in to run your rehabs.