Wholesaling structure changing ?

19 Replies

I just watched Jerry Norton's new video and he's saying we have to change the structure of the way we wholesale or its illegal because of our intentions to sell it to a cash buyer. I'm new to this and trying to get my foot in the door of real estate so I can move on to flipping but now I feel like I might have to start all over. Is it still considered illegal even if I tell them my intentions or if I work with the real estate agent for on market properties and let them represent me as the buyers agent ?

@Jazmine Hill   In most states, if not all, it is illegal to market a property that you don't already own (i.e., your name is on the title), unless you have a real estate license. 

States heavily regulate real estate agents in order to protect the public from unscrupulous operators who would steal their equity or otherwise defraud them.  Boiled down to the bare minimum, that is exactly what wholesalers do.

Disclosing your intent to practice unlicensed real estate brokering doesn't make that illegal act into a legal act.  For example, if I were to say to you, I fully intend to rob you at gunpoint and steal your money, and then do it, it's still armed robbery and I still go to prison.

No real estate agent will work with you to wholesale a listed property.  They would have to be a blithering idiot to take part in stripping (stealing) equity from a seller.  The local real estate commission would most likely revoke their license and fine them into oblivion - and their managing broker would show them the door in a red-hot hurry.  The broker doesn't want the bad publicity when the wholesaler screws Grandma out of a $25,000 (illegal) "contract assignment" fee.

If you want to get into selling real estate, do it the right way.  Get your real estate license and subject yourself to the laws and regulations that are in place to protect the consumer.