Housing market continuing trends or stabilize

8 Replies

hi, I'm just getting started on my investing journey, and I keep being told that a crash is coming. I do understand that crashes happen and that the market trends up even after a crash. but I guess the question is do you experienced guys and gals believe one is coming soon (next 6-18 months) or are tends going to continue. 

I've been told to look at what the rich are doing and that they hard putting money only in physical assets and pulling out of real estate. but if that was true why would the market be so high still. 

Hi Eldon,

I only have 4 properties so not a big expert - but from what I've read, people can sit on the sidelines forever if they are constantly waiting for the perfect timing of a crash. So what I do is just make sure the numbers make sense to me with my calculations, if make offers where I think I'm getting a great deal no matter the climate of the market. It may just take more offers, but it's always a good time to invest and buy RE! Good luck.

Danny

First each area is different.  If you are wanting to buy a place, look for a place where the numbers make sense and buy it.  I bought in an area where prices have increased a lot. Then prices started to stabilize (still increasing, but at a more normal rate).  This last 6 months, they've taken off again.  Another town where I have places, the price of homes hasn't increased in more than 15 years as they are overbuilding.  They haven't gone down, but they haven't really gone up.