Buying & Selling Real Estate
Account Closed
  • Honolulu, HI
Votes |
My First Open House

Account Closed
  • Honolulu, HI
Posted Aug 19 2013, 01:52

Aloha BP family. I just wanted to take the time to document my first open house. As a newly licensed agent, I was asked by my broker to conduct an open house on one of her listings. I was excited for the opportunity!

The house was a single-family home, located in a tight knit community. It was a 4 bedroom and 1.5 baths with a nice little cottage. The open was to start at 2:00 PM and conclude at 5:00 PM, but I decided to open a tad early at 1:30 PM.

Here's what I noticed:

(1) Even though I didn't know the finer details of the property, a handful of neighbors basically told me everything about the house. These lovely people have been residents of the neighborhood for 40-50+ years! One of these neighbors asked me why the asking price was so high. Before she answered, she stated, "I paid $15,000 for my house. There's no way this house is worth that much!" It was hard to keep my laugh in...Most importantly, the neighbors told me the history of the home, it's previous owners/rental tenants, and the history of the neighborhood. I don't know about you guys, but I really enjoy listening to stories about the "olden days."

(2) Interestingly, some of the most serious people were the neighbors themselves. From what I was told, many of them own multiple properties in this neighborhood. However, a middle age lady (and her family) seemed very interested it. Other than that, the heaviest amount of interest came from the 65+ age range. Very interesting.