Start to Finish... Ground Up Single Tenant NNN Lease Development

59 Replies

So I felt like this would be a good subject to journal, both for the input from the pros and as a loose guide for others venturing into this field of investment.

Although I have been involved in the purchase of existing NNN lease investments I have yet to get involved from the ground up, much less as the actual point man.

I will go ahead and ask for forgiveness ahead of time for any typos, misspellings, or grammatical disasters. I am not a writer, a poet, or a prude.

Chapter One " What was I thinking" January 2014

I started the process by assessing/evaluating which credit tenant I wanted to focus on, and settled with the Dollar type national credit tenants.

I then looked at markets within 90 miles of Tallahassee, and studied the footprint of the three major Dollar tenants looking for gaps in the foot print and assessing why there were gaps. Simultaneously, I studied the age of existing Dollars in an attempt to add to the gap study the need for potential relocation of old Dollar types to new free standing buildings. Eventually I had a list of target stores and gaps. This is when the real work began.

With my maps and list I began to eliminate potential relocation options for various reasons but mainly do to remaining term on the leases. My focus started to narrow to areas that were missing one of the four large players in the Dollar game. once I narrowed my target markets to "gap zones" I started searching those zones for the most attractive parcels of land which in my mind is a parcel with good ingress and egress, preferably a corner lot with a market high traffic count. whether they were actively for sale or not. I also remained mindful that I may need to assemble multiple parcels, always considering the fact that I may need to tear down existing structures.