Idea for Industrial Building

5 Replies

I have been thinking about an idea for a while and want to input. As a former contractor I have alot of friends who have small shops. Many of these guys have a garage or several garages to store stuff. Most garages are not tall enough to allow a van with a ladder rack. In order to get into a shop one usually has to rent larger spaces. I have been toying with an idea to have 4-6 1,200-2,000 sq foot shops, with a shared conference room and office area. It could even have a person in the office to help them(would cost extra), so I am trying to combine the idea of sharing office space trend while giving each tenant a secure shop area that is no larger than they need, and therefore better on there cash flow. My intital response in talking to people is for a 2,000 shop I could get 1200 month that's almost double per sq foot than the larger spaces, and makes it some the small shop can manage there expenses in the less busy times they encounter. Wondering if this has been done elsewhere or what your thoughts are?

I love that this idea is coming from someone in Indiana!  I think your concept is solid, I would talk with those potential tenants you know and see what they think.  Here in Denver the shared space idea has been used in many forms from micro offices to wood-working and welding.  People will pay a premium $/sf for something small if it is more affordable, and many people who can afford something like that can't qualify for a traditional 3-5 year commercial lease on their own space.

The hassle with something like that is the administration & management.  Collecting rent from multiple tenants, dealing with property repairs and issues, controlling access correctly, but it can be done.  My old company developed several large industrial buildings into artist studios and micro offices. I'd be happy to chat further with you.