Buying Commercial Property that houses my business

11 Replies

I own a successful small business that's located in a small retail strip. We have just over 50% of the square footage, and there are three other business located there. I would like to buy the property but I believe the value is around $1.35M. I don't have nearly the cash I would need to go the conventional 30% down route. I need some advice on how to creatively finance this deal. I'd like to keep my business where it is long-term and would love to own the property.

Medium picco logoVincent Priore, Picco Partners | [email protected] | http://www.piccopartners.com

Hello Vincent....I am far from an expert on the SBA 504 loan but I think your loan might be a good fit.   I would reach out to Chris Hurn with Fountainhead Commercial Capital. He has been in the 504 space along time.

I understand that you can get into the property with 10% down.

"SBA's regulations on leasing require that the small business occupy at least 51% of the rentable property if the 504 project is for an existing building and at least 60% of the rentable property (with the intent to move into at least an additional 20%) if the 504 project is new construction.

Eligible Borrowers:
  • For-profit, non-publicly traded businesses
  • Tangible business net worth (including affiliates) not to exceed $15 million
  • Average net income of the business not to exceed $5 million over the previous two years
  • Ownership must generally be comprised of 51% U.S. citizens or Legal Permanent Residents (some exceptions apply)Examples of Property Types Fountainhead Finances:
  • Medical offices or medical facilities (such as labs and clinics)
  • Office buildings (including office condos)
  • Warehouses (and other industrial properties)
  • Day care facilities (for children or adults)
  • Free-standing restaurants
  • Limited-service, flagged hotels (some unflagged destination hotels will be considered)
  • Auto repair shops