SBA loan for Mixed-use building

8 Replies

Hello Everyone,

I am interested in using a SBA loan to purchase a mixed-used building to start my own property management company.  The only problem I see is that although I work as a Asset Manager, I am young and not sure the bank will take me seriously.  The buildings I am interested in are listed between 600k-1.3 million, but I feel the income the buildings are currently producing can support my start-up ( I will pay myself a management fee to manage the apartments above my office).  I am also aware of grants from the city, that can help me out. Can anyone give me guidance on how I can get this done, I have been putting together a very good plan, but is it possible for a 22 year old to get a 1 million dollar loan? If so how can I make this work, and what can I do to present this to a lender?  If not, what are my options?

I've never done an SBA loan and I only know a little bit about it.  However what you stated is concerning.  Have you started this business yet?  Other than deriving some of the rental income as "revenue" for your asset management company, how is this any different than an investor buying an investment building?  One of the SBA rules is that they don't make loans for investment properties.  Are you planning to occupy 50%+ of the property per SBA rules?  

I don't think your age has anything to do with whether or not a bank will take you seriously. If you walk in there, with no active business, with no business plan, have no down payment, etc...then of course the bank won't take you seriously.  If you have a business you've been operating and has been profitable, good credit history, and have a well laid out proforma/business plan of what you expect from buying a building, then the banks will.   Most lenders would want 2 years of profitable business history to make an SBA loan.  However the only way to truly know is to talk to a banker.