Has anyone ever invested in Restaurants?

18 Replies

Just curious. I was wondering how restaurants decided what areas to move to and how. And specifically how to attract restauranteurs (even chain ones) into an area.

I'm not an expert on that end, I just owned 6 of them :) The franchisor has different models and demographics they look for. The brokers that are looking for spaces are supposed to help match the existing demographics with the concept's target demographics. Not sure if that helps, feel free to direct message me if I can help any further ...

Michael

We have leased to several restaurants- both local one-offs and national chains. Most of these deals were brought in by the tenant's brokers. Usually the restaurants make the brokers run around town to scout for sites based on their client's criteria. It is rare in our experience to deal direct, but we have done so through networking. Hope it helps  

Let me put this in another way:

I live in an incredibly up awesome developing/majorly developed area. (riverview Florida, a suburb of Tampa).

I have 2 clients running pro formas to build up subdivisions here. It's AWESOME.

What this area is desparate for right now are restaurants. Family dining/moderately upscale. I can link demographics on the area, show you how many people are flooding here/jobs are coming here in recent years and continuing forward. We have two competing movie theaters being built... and the only plans to go alongside them are fast food?

Chilis/ longhorns esque. There is actually a running joke on social media anytime someone posts 'what is being built at X location' the responses are immediately 'longhorns steakhouse finally!' followed by 'nope its a target!'

What is one thing everyone I sell homes to tells me? I wish there were more options to eat. 

How can I communicate, possibly with one of you, that this is a great opportunity, and you should at least look into it?