• Investor
  • Watsonville, CA
Votes |
Seller Refusing to provide Phase I ESA

Erik Nizenkoff
  • Investor
  • Watsonville, CA
Posted Oct 29 2017, 13:43

Hi,  I've been lurking on the forums for awhile, but this is my first time posting.

I'm currently 14 days into a 60 day escrow on the purchase of a commercial property in California.  This would be our first commercial property, we also own a rental condo.  The property is 1/2 acre with a 2000 sq ft building containing 4 units.  My wife and I have been tenants in one of the buildings for the past 2 years, so we're pretty familiar with the property.  The landlord is a VERY difficult person to deal with, which is part of our reason for buying the building.  

This property was originally built as a gas station/mechanic's shop in the 1930's.  Gas tanks were abandoned in the 1960's.  In 1995, the tanks were filled in place by a reputable company and all required reports were filed with the county's environmental health department.  I have no reason to believe the property is contaminated.

Our landlord/seller is also a licensed real estate broker.  He is representing himself in the sale.  He provided a "Commerical Property Purchase Agreement Receipt For Deposit, And Escrow Instructions" Form from 1998.  A little outdated, but ok... Since seller was representing himself, I hired a real estate attorney to assist me with the purchase.  I figured this was the prudent thing to do.  My attorney reviewed the purchase agreement and made a couple of edits/addendums.  The seller agreed to the addendums, we both signed, and I gave him a check for a deposit made out to the escrow company.