New CR investor looking for guidance..

5 Replies

Hello BP members,

I'm 25 years old and I live in Charlotte, North Carolina. I currently make around $12/hr at a grocery store. My goal is to invest in commercial multifamily, but my main problem is I don't have much capital to invest. So, my dilemma is this: should I seek to raise capital, or should I seek to become a commercial real estate broker? 

Let me know if you have any other questions, and I'll answer them to the best of my ability. Thanks.

I am a commercial broker. A good place to start would be to take some classes to get your real estate license. You might want to contact a commercial brokerage to see if they have any open positions that do not require a license, and that you are in the process of getting yours.

Thanks for the reply Ed. This is a good suggestion if I did want to go down the path of being a broker. But, do you think that's the path I should take to learn the business from the ground up? Or, should I cut away the stepping stones, and start trying to raise money for my first deal. If I went this route, I could acquire my first investment property sooner. 

If you have no track record, no experience, and limited money working in a grocery store then how would you convince investors to give you capital?

Most commercial brokers/agent make under 100k a year. I do very,very  well but I am a principal broker 14 years in the business. You have to work your way up. If you are just starting out likely you will be working on a 3 person team. Half usually goes to the brokerage. Then the rest is split 3 ways with the new agent learning getting the crumbs. Example 100k commission 50k to brokerage then 25k to senior broker, 17k to middle broker, 8k to junior agent etc.

Having said that it doesn't take much to beat 12 bucks an hour. You might not close anything for awhile and transactions take longer than residential.

Good luck