Skip to content
Commercial Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Randy Walters
  • Smyrna, GA
Votes |
Retirement time - What to do with a commercial office building???

Randy Walters
  • Smyrna, GA
Posted Nov 9 2017, 21:47

Okay, I'm pretty new to BP and have commented on a few forms over the months.  I have some questions I wanted to ask the field for some advice on some strategies I've heard of.  In this scenario, I'll say I'm "asking for a friend" who is looking to move on immediately and retire.

Say for instance you have an older historic house that's paid off and you've been using this to operate your business out off.  The area likely will have interest from buyers has also had interest from the city to purchase in the past.  So when it finally comes time to retire (now) what are some of the options available?  House is on approx 1 acre, estimated around 1.5MM.

1. Sell 

- I think they are motivated to just be done with it and I respect that.  I feel they are in a rush to sell, but I don't know if they need to put an emphasis on speed if the property is paid off.  Am I wrong?  Are there going to be any significant tax triggers? Closing costs? May as well wait for an offer that is fair instead of settling for something below market.

2. Lease with or without a property manager 

- I like this option for them better than selling outright (you can only sell once). This option, however, may take some work or some research on finding the right property manager to find/manage tenants. Is there really more to this aside from properly vetting these companies? This may just be me as an outsider thinking this is ideal for them, but if they just want to be done with it, I can still respect them taking option 1

3.  Triple Net Lease