Legalized marijuana and the effect on the market

21 Replies

I live in Colorado Springs, and we have dispensaries all over town. And I know that as well as store fronts that sell, there are a huge number of indoor grow operations that operate in industrial areas, as we as in residential neighborhoods. So my question is, taking the ethical stance out of the equation, and the social ramification argument, what have you all seen as to the impact that this industry has had on the real estate market in the areas that have adopted some legal form of marijuana. Love to hear your thoughts!

I'm no expert on this topic, BUT, I know in Oregon the law is written so that the only legal place to smoke is in a private home, which could obviously have an impact on a rental property. I'd be sure to include very specific language regarding smoking marijuana in my leases. 

I live in Denver - Ruby Hill Neighborhood along the Platte River.  We have the greatest concentration of commercial grows in the state.  I've seen a VERY large demand in smaller warehouses (5,000 - 10,000 sq ft).  I've also seen various nurseries bought out (Dardano's on Evans is now a grow facility).  Zoning generally prohibits legal grows in residential areas (aside from personal use).  With relation to economic changes - locksmiths around town are benefiting from a higher demand in safes.  You can still find gun safes around town but a commercial safe with shelves that will hold cash and coin are harder to find since retailers and grows can't use the banking system.  Naturally, there is a benefit to HVAC and Electrical contractors.

@Bryan Cork