Commercial strip mall

9 Replies

Hi,

I’m just getting started in commercial investment. I’m currently trying to buy a 4acre commercial parcel and was curious to know a couple things:

1. What approximate cost for construction? Considering parking lot and other items needed...

2. I would like 1 or 2 national tenants ( like aspen dental, T-Mobile,etc..) Who do I contact to see if they are interested?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Francesco 

You put the land under contract and then go for lease commitments and zoning approval BEFORE going hard with the earnest money.

Originally posted by @Joel Owens :

You put the land under contract and then go for lease commitments and zoning approval BEFORE going hard with the earnest money.

Thanks for response. I currently have the seller of parcel close to the purchase price I’m shooting for and I also included a 120 day due diligence period to make sure all my numbers make sense. The land is already commercial and I spoke with the township and they confirmed that I could build a strip mall.

My next step would be to do a feasibility study...

You need to see WHAT RENTS you could get before closing on this land for purchase.

If you are getting the land for cheap then whether getting national tenants, regional, or mom and pop there still might be profit to be made.

If you are paying close to market or a premium you need to get the commitment from the national tenants before you close otherwise you could get smaller rents than expected from regional to mom and pop tenants when nationals pass on the site. 

In this area rents are between $12/$18 sf and the buildings are pretty outdated.

How do I get in contact with a national tenant? I don’t think I would have any issues finding mom and pop tenants but I would prefer to have National tenants 

Originally posted by @Francesco Bonura :

In this area rents are between $12/$18 sf and the buildings are pretty outdated.