NNN Basic Facts in Finding Deals

5 Replies

Hi All,

I am buying my first NNN and wanted to understand the process better. To start with I was curious about the folliowing:

1) I know the Seller pays the brokerage fee, but I would like to know what brokerage fees typically are for selling a NNN? Is it lower past 1M in price?

2) Is there a database of NNN properties, like a MLS? Or do people and brokers find listings just from email lists?

Thanks,

Sara

Hi Sara,

I am a principal commercial broker and investor myself. I own my company. I have clients nationally all over the U.S. I review between 500 to 1,000 retail properties weekly to find matches for my clients.

The bigger real estate firms tend to have 3 to 4 people on a team and represent the seller and their interests. They tend to only mainly push the properties to sell that they have listed in their inventory whether they are bad,good, or great  properties.

What I do is different. I have a database of my own with many thousands of owners nationally and I look through them to find the best properties for my clients. My fee is written into the LOI and paid by the seller in most cases.

There is not really a central MLS for NNN. There is Loopnet, CREXI,etc. that have some properties on there but not a majority of them.

The broker fee is negotiable. Some brokerages that list lots of properties at a time from one owner may give them a special rate. As a buyer it should not concern you what the seller is paying out unless you are a broker buying for yourself.

The higher in price the total percents can come down sometimes. 1 million in NNN is like buying a 50,000 house and not much worth anything is available.

I usually have potential clients fill out a PFS and then we jump on a call after I review it. it also makes a difference if you are completing a 1031 exchange or not or if cash is sitting in the bank ready to go. 

Thank you for the answer!