Commercial Property Lease Commission

4 Replies

Hello BP community!

I am an agent representing the tenant in a commercial lease and upon agreeing verbally on a 5 year lease, the listing agent/seller wants to breakdown the lease to 2 years lease with the option to extend the lease for 2 additional 2 year periods.  (2+2+2)

Is he trying to cut off my commission for the 2 additional 2 year periods?

Any thoughts of how you would approach the situation will be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Ask to be paid in full for the renewals when/if they occur.  Also ask why they want to structure the deal that way, it seems a little odd but they could have a valid reason.

Hi Andreea - Seconding what Keegan said, it does seem a bid odd the landlord would prefer a shorter initial term, but may be a valid reason. If you have an experienced tenant with a track record, then would try to push for the 5 year initial term and be paid on the 5 years now (50% at lease execution and 50% at commencement). If you're tenant is a start-up or someone with shaky financials, and the landlord will only agree to a 2 year initial lease term with the options, do try to secure it on the options then. FYI - depending on the type of property and conditions in your market, you may or may not have success with this. For example, in my market (Philly) and sector focus (retail), commissions are rarely, if ever, paid on options, extensions, expansions.

Thank you @Kegan Russell and @Damon DiPlacido

If my client/tenant is offering a substantial security deposit of $20,000 and both parties agrees that landlord will return the amount quarterly over the term of the lease, should my client ask for interest? If yes, what would be reasonable?

I'm thinking this option in case the landlord's valid reason is the considerable amount of commission.