5 Unit Commercial building Valuation

4 Replies

I'm considering a property in Utah that has 5 separate offices (all are currently rented) in a 11,000+sf  building in a nicer area where rents are about 3-6% lower than the average in the area.  All 5 leases will expire within 3-9 months.

I own several residential rental properties.

I've never analyzed commercial business buildings.

This building's asking price is $1.4m.  

QUESTIONS:

1. Any calculators similar to the one on BiggerPockets for residential properties out there you recommend?

2. What key factors should I consider to determine if this is a good deal or not?

3. What ROI, IRR, CapRate, Monthly Cashflow, etc., should I target if I were to buy this deal or another commercial business building?

I'm a newbie in commercial buildings.  I've had some success with residential and I want to strongly consider commercial now. 

Hello Scott!  That is a good question and nothing that I say is meant to be taken as a personal insult.  I have not ever looked at the possibility to purchase commercial property but I'll do my best to give you an answer based on what I've learned about that type of development.  I have been involved in the past about sales managing and maintaining commercial properties as well as construction projects into retail, banking, movie theaters, and a hotel.

For about a year I have been watching and listening to a gentleman that has about 25 years in the experiencing of successful real estate buying and selling apartment complexes and currently owns almost 5,000 apartment units.  One of the reasons he has bought so many apartment complexes and have always been profitable for him and he says that apartment complexes have always been profitable for him and is now saying to stay away or be cuatious from most other commercial operation.