Anna Gorres
  • Minneapolis, MN
Votes |
5 Unit Analysis & Master Lease Strategy

Anna Gorres
  • Minneapolis, MN
Posted Oct 31 2018, 18:41

Hello fellow Pro members!

I am looking to make my first investment. I live in the Twin Cities area, but am from West Central MN, so I have been looking in both areas.

In the summer of 2017 I came across a 5 unit building in my hometown area (house, but considered commercial due to # of units). I had my realtor get a profit and loss, but it was off the market before I could come up with a strategy. According to the county assessor office, it appears the same people own it.

A little about me. I am in my late 30's, and at around 30 I moved to the cities to attend college and obtain my first BS (in Interior Design). I graduated in May '15, and since have been paying off debt (0% credit card) and trying to get financially situated again. Starting over in a new career is not easy on the pocketbook. Additionally, I had to pay for a minor out-patient surgery this last year. So, I am looking to get into REI with little to no money down (preferably no money down). I do have great credit, if that helps in these situations.

I haven't been able to get this property off of of my mind. I recently learned of maser lease agreements. I am wondering if I can propose this to the current owners. I am assuming my payments would ultimately be my down payment, so that if and when it comes time to officially purchase the property, I will have the 20-25% equity. 

Here is the info I have:

Asking price was 149,900. However, I did calculations off of 140,900, since no realtor fees will be paid (correct?)

Gross Rents: 34,620

Vacancy (while 2017 was 100%, I took the greatest vacancy rate from 2012-2017): 3%

NOI: 15,745 (includes 8% property management and 10% cap ex)

Debt Service: (I have no idea, I just figured 0% interest with an amortization of 15 years, since I am trying to obtain equity for a loan pay off. Any other suggestions?): 9,393,36