Rentometer for Commercial Properties?

12 Replies

Hey guys, this is my first post here and might be a total newbie question. I'm looking to buy a commercial property from a family member. Its been owned for years and used as a plumbing business, it was never rented so I have no idea of what it could rent for. In doing some research online it was tough finding a website like rentometer but for commercial properties instead of residential. 

I tried looking at other commercial properties in the area that are for lease but there is such a wide spectrum out there and commercial properties can vary in size and purpose and the renting potential varies greatly as well. Any help in this area would be appreciated since I'm trying to analyze the deal and see what I could rent it for if I did buy it. 

Regards, 

Bryce Kammerzell

You need to see what current zoning allows for. Look at current land use map and future to see what city or county has designated they want the area to be currently and become in the future.

From there see what is highest and best use for the building and the site. Retail is typically highest rents per sq ft, followed by office, then warehouse/industrial. The type of lease structure also varies by assets class.

There is a lot more to it then people think.

@Bryce Kammerzell what @Joel Owens said plus You should run multiple scenarios based on similar properties that he mentioned and run the numbers backwards. 

You should be able to determine rents for the different types of properties and subtract operating expenses to get to an NOI.

You can talk to local commercial brokers for some guidance on potential uses and income and expense expectations and assumptions.