Is real estate investing for me?

49 Replies

Hi all. I am a health care professional that has always been fascinated by real estate investing. I have around $ 200,000 extra income a year to invest after maximizing my other retirement plans. I would like to begin taking that extra money and invest it into real estate to diversify my portfolio. However I am very busy with my profession. I understand it will take more work than just placing the money into the S and P 500 but from everyone’s experience, is it reasonable to assume I can do this without creating another job for myself? Thanks in advance!!

You could be passive and hire a management company for yourself but like I always tell my clients you are buying yourself a job 

@David Wilson there are a few options for you to consider that would not create a new job or affect your current job. I did a video on this very topic the other day.

You can passively invest in a deal, become a private lender for investors/developers  or partner with an investor/developer.

David it comes down to your goals.

200k down to own something yourself that is worthwhile in commercial is hard to do.

There are passive properties such as single tenant net lease retail properties.

If you are accredited you can invest in different platforms. Ground up is expensive in costs right now. Lots of developers at this top cycle are going after existing value add where the equity jump can be created faster. There are still some new projects that can be worthwhile investing in just have to be careful on how many years are planned to extract the value and strength of the operator. The longer in years it takes to complete the project and stabilize the more systemic risk can be present as there is a greater chance of a cycle shift. Make sure developer has accounted for a potential downcycle and what would be worst case scenario for an exit.