Commercial Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Jeff Stephenson
Votes |
Analyzing a small boat storage facility

Jeff Stephenson
Posted Feb 20 2020, 12:40

I'm looking for some help in evaluating a deal on a small boat storage at a popular lake, located in very close proximity to the marina and boat ramp.

As you'll soon discover in my meanderings on the subject, I'm very new at this.

It's a small boat storage, 2 buildings, 24 spots. One building is cinder block walls and wood truss framing. The other is all wood framing, both on concrete slabs. Both have metal roofs, of around 15 years age. The owners claim the units stay occupied essentially 100% of the time.

The asking price is 100k, they will do seller financing with 10k down. They currently have a loan on the property, balance unknown to me, but lender told them they can do whatever they want as far as wrapping the loan.

Current annual income, don't laugh, is $12960. I called two other facilities in the same area as this one and they are both charging more for their boat storage. One had one vacancy, the other was not currently vacant.

I called three more facilities at the same lake, but different areas. They were all charging more and all had 1-2 vacancies.

I'm certain the income can be raised immediately to $15,840 and maybe as high as $18,720 in another year or two.

One problem is 8 of the tenants have paid for a year in advance, so I am guessing their rates can't be raised until their year is up. Also, there are no lease agreements with any of the tenants.

Their taxes are: $956 yr

Their Insurance: $1200 yr

Their Electric: $384 yr