Buying a Golf Course

16 Replies

Hey BP,

I know this is a bit out there... does anyone have experience financing and completing the purchase of a golf course?

There is a beautiful, yet poorly managed, golf course near my home in Suburban Philadelphia near Phoenixville in Chester County that has peaked my interest. It is not for sale currently, but as the owners refuse to invest in proper management and general course etiquette I can't imagine it will be successful for much longer.

Obviously I have no experience managing a golf course but a trained monkey could do a better job than these guys. A potential exit strategy would be using the land for development as it is a very desirable place to live with some picturesque scenery.

Anyone have any experience doing this or something similar?

Hey @Christian Beyer , I sure don't, but I like the sound of it.  I think golf courses are interesting in the fact that they can be operationally profitable themselves, but generally contain a lot of land, making it a bit of a dynamic investment. 

Good luck in this endeavor!

@Daniel McNulty

I see what you did there.

Listening to @Greg Dickerson short pod on the topic it seems to be a long putt to turn a profit and unless you have deep pockets or lots of investors it rarely is a good investment medium, instead it is more of a hobby.

It seems that this would be a sub par option unless there were more grandiose plans for development or other revenue streams.

@Christian Beyer . Definitely best purchased as land only for development value.

Some statistics on golf in the US:

The number of core American golfers (those playing eight rounds or more per year) has fallen between three and 4.5 percent every year since 2006.

Since 2007, the number of golf courses closing in America has significantly outnumbered the number of new course being built.