Sheriff Sale in Philadelphia

20 Replies

Hey folks,

I would like to hear your inputs about the sheriff sale process in Philadelphia.

Any successful experiences?

Thanks,

Andresa

Key words: foreclosure, philly, philadelphia, cash buyer

have not tried it out yet. But if anyone has I'm always interested in learning

I'd be interested to hear thoughts/experiences too. I believe there was a bigger pockets meetup on this earlier this week, but I was not able to make it.

I have no real experience at the Philly auction but I have a cousin who has successfully been purchasing for years.

That being said i attended an auction with him and learned an extremely valuable lesson.  The list came out and he found some opportunities that he was interested in but all went for money than he thought was a good price. And finally he bid on one and to his surprise no bids against him. that raised his suspicions... When we went to the property he realized he looked at the wrong place and the one he bid on actually was next door. It had no roof, no stairs , no walls in some areas a total tare down. He forfeited his down payment and learned a lesson he would not soon forget.

@Alex M. and @Ken Prause

There's a seminar at the Sheriff's office coming up about the bidding process at a Sheriff’s Sale. I think it would be helpful to attend it.

The next seminar in July is already fill out. The next one is on August 12th at 1pm at 100 S Broad St, 5th Floor. Phila. 19110. The registration can be done on line.

@Gil Lieblich

Thank you for sharing that experience. I heard similar stories about it!!

Is your cousin from NJ or PA?

thanks for the info Andresa but I have 2 props in the works right now. But it is definitly something I will be looking at eventually

Thank you Andresa Lobrace for sharing the information about the seminar.

I was at a Philly REIA meeting last night that went into detail about buying at Sheriff Sales.

@Alex M.