Double Close

10 Replies

I would like to buy a multiplex property using a double close for the purpose of holding as a rental property.  I don't quit understand how that works.  Can someone explain how that might work.

Why would you need to do a double close if you are buying the property to keep it as a rental?

Ryan Dossey, Real Estate Agent in IN (#RB15001099)
800-347-9296

You are buying using a double closing? So are you buying FROM someone who is double closing, or do you want to double close with a tenant?

I'm not an expert, but here is my best explanation.

In a double close, there's a front and back-end. The front end is the first closing.

So Allen wants to buy a property From Bob and sell it to Charlie. Allen opens with Bob. Before Allen closes with Bob, he closes with Charlie. Allen can open with Bob by buying an option or with earnest money.

But he's wanting to buy the property for himself to hold as a rental so there would be no reason for him to have to double close unless the property is from a wholesaler. 

Ryan Dossey, Real Estate Agent in IN (#RB15001099)
800-347-9296

Okay, what I understand is that I can buy a foreclosure or a property below market value for price with the anticipation of doing the repairs and getting a loan on the money for the new appraised value of the property.  So I am up fronted the money by a lender for the first close and then I can borrow 75% or so on the new higher appraised value which is enough to pay off the first loan.  My only out of pocket would be the repair cost.  Does that make sense?

Are you trying to buy the contract from a motivated seller, then double close it to a cash buyer who will use it as a buy and hold?

@Gary Nething  

No, I am trying to buy a foreclosure with little cash out-of-pocket.